Splash and Macro

Redoing my Splash project from last year. Shot for hours, over 1000 images, sadly very few of them ever come out the way we plan.

Originally i was playing with color but in this case I’m loving the black and white.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Still Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Splash and Macro

  1. wow, these are gorgeous! I love the black and white.

  2. Love the black and white on these!

  3. A great project. I certainly agree about the monochrome – very striking.

  4. John M says:

    1000+ photos? Thank goodness for digital photography.

  5. TK says:

    This is VERY cool!

  6. Love the project; black and white keeps yr values honest, good study! Thx for liking my blog.

  7. Pam says:

    Capturing something so fleeting must be hard. These are beautiful – well worth the effort!

  8. At least you didn’t have to process al that in film! I too like my 60mm Macro – I had originally wanted the 105mm macro, but now with the DX crop, I have the focal length I always wanted…

  9. I really love these black and white splashes, water is so intriguing to try and capture…..and you caught it beautifully.

  10. H.O says:

    beautiful work.

  11. picklesandchapstick says:

    These are beautiful!!

  12. Dale says:

    I can see why you love the black and white as well. Really allows he droplets to pull me into the picture. I’ve been coveting a macro lens for years … I think you just gave me the final nudge I needed to make the investment. Thanks.

  13. Noelle says:

    Love these. I’m completely intrigued by water, these days. The black and white highlight the drama, more than color likely would have. The drama is in the movement and you caught that beautifully

  14. Wow really love these. I’d like to try this. Can you explain how you setup?

    • nikitavdv says:

      I actually had to go look this up myself, I found some interesting video’s on YouTube, so you can try there if you like. Personally, I filled a glass tray with water and put black paper under it, but you can use any colour to get different effects, then I had my camera set upside down on my tripod, just at the bowls edge, I used a flash pointing at a reflector on the other side of the lens (so it was camera lens-> Splash <- reflector) and from there just pored water in the bowl and shot, ALOT. Good Luck 🙂

  15. zoomoneblog says:

    Brilliant! The B&W is stark and realistic.

  16. Thank you for liking “On a Grand Scale” and “Night Photography.” You have done a great job of capturing the shifting shapes formed by the movement of a water drop in these pictures. I also admire your patience with this project. 🙂

  17. You have a good sense of composition with a tough subject to capture. Awesome.

  18. Love the choice of Black and White! Beautiful!

  19. These are the terrific-the b/w really works here-

  20. I love these photos, especially in black and white! Looking forward to following your work.

  21. Raven Guide says:

    I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award because I enjoy your blog posts! 🙂

    http://myravenblog.com/2013/10/28/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  22. awomansaved says:

    Incredible!

  23. sosparkly says:

    These are very nice, love the light! Yes, shoot, shoot, shoot, and cull out the best…

  24. Cris says:

    I especially like the upper left photo—not only for the contrast but for the details caught in the water itself, the little swirlies, and in the drops themselves. I think B&W suits these photos just fine, although I’m not what you would call a B&W affectionato, or whatever it’s called. Good shooting (with a camera, you never can tell who is listening these days). 🙂

Leave a Reply

